Best Practice
Consultancy & Training
Effective Governance, Risk, and Compliance (GRC) related programmes
Comprehensive portfolio of public and in-house training programmes

ITIL® Intermediate Lifecycle - Service Transition (ST)

Training Topic: 
IT Service and Project Management
Training Framework/Standard: 
ITIL Intermediate

The ITIL Service Transition Certificate is a free- standing qualification but is also part of the ITIL intermediate lifecycle stream, and one of the modules that leads to the ITIL Expert Certificate in IT Service Management.

The course covers the management-level concepts and core information of the supporting activities within service transition, but not specific details about each of the supporting processes. It includes the following topics:

  • Introduction to service transition
  • Service transition principles
  • Service transition processes
  • Organizing for service transition
  • Technology considerations
  • Implementing service transition
  • Challenges, critical success factors and risks

Day 1

  • Introduction to Service Transition
  • Service Transition principles
  • Transition planning and support (TPS)
  • Change management
  • Exercises
  • Service Assets and Configuration Management


Day 2

  • Release and deployment management
  • Service validation and test management
  • Change evaluation (CE)
  • Knowledge management
  • Managing people through Service Transition


Day 3

  • Organising Service Transition
  • Technology considerations
  • Implementing Service Transition
  • Challenges, CSFs and risk

This course covers management level concepts, processes, activities and principles of the Service Transition service lifecycle. Changes made during transition introduce risk and service transition ensures that appropriate controls are defined and implemented to minimise this risk. The course also deals with the "people" aspects of change and introduces organisational change management to candidates.

Candidates will learn how to set the correct expectations for the performance and use of new or changed services, to ensure changes create expected business value and to provide quality knowledge and information about services and service assets.

  • Business managers and executives
  • Business consultants  
  • Business process owners, program and project managers
  • IT executives, managers and team-leaders
  • IT consultants, IT assessors, auditors and risk managers
  • IT process owners
  • The exam consists of 8 multiple-choice, scenario-based, gradient scored questions.
  • Each question will have 4 possible answer options, one of which is worth 5 marks, one which is worth 3 marks, one which is worth 1 mark, and one which is a distracter and achieves no marks.
  • Duration: Maximum 90 minutes for candidates in their home language (if available - 120 minutes if the paper is in your second language. The use of a dictionary will be allowed).

To be eligible for the examination leading to the ITIL Service Transition, the candidate must fulfil the following requirements:

Have undertaken at least 24 contact hours approved training.
Hold the ITIL Foundation Certificate in IT Service Management.
Have at least 2 years' professional experience working in IT service management.
Completed a minimum 12 hours of personal study by reviewing the course material provided.
It is recommended that candidates have experience of working in the service management capacity within a service provider environment, with responsibility for at least one of the Service Transition processes outlined above.
A maximum of 16 participants will be allowed to attend a classroom course.