Best Practice
Consultancy & Training
Effective Governance, Risk, and Compliance (GRC) related programmes
Comprehensive portfolio of public and in-house training programmes

ITIL® Intermediate Lifecycle - Service Design (SD)

Training Topic: 
IT Service and Project Management
Training Framework/Standard: 
ITIL Intermediate

The ITIL Service Design Certificate is a free- standing qualification but is also part of the ITIL intermediate lifecycle stream, and one of the modules that leads to the ITIL Expert Certificate in IT Service Management.

The course covers the management-level concepts and core information of the supporting activities within service design, but not specific details about each of the supporting processes. It includes the following topics:

  • Introduction to service design
  • Service design principles
  • Service design processes and integation with other ITIL processes
  • Organizing for service design
  • Technology considerations
  • Implementing service design
  • Challenges, critical success factors and risks

Day 1

  • An introduction to Service Design
  • Service Design principles
  • The design coordination process

Day 2

  • The service catalogue process
  • The service level management process
  • The supplier management process
  • Availability management
  • Capacity management
  • IT continuity management
  • Information security management
  • Managing risk

Day 3

  • Organising service design
  • Technology considerations
  • Implementing service design
  • Challenges, risks and CSFs

This course provides a view of service design  and focuses on tactical planning activities to ensure the effective introduction and management of services. Service design ensures that proper integrated designs are handed over to service transition for development and implementation and that customer needs and possible risks were considered during the design lifecycle. 

Candidates can expect to gain competencies that will help them to better manage and plan for the delivery of IT services and related activities.

  • Business managers and executives
  • Business consultants  
  • Business process owners, program and project managers
  • IT executives and managers
  • IT consultants, IT assessors, auditors and risk managers
  • IT process owners
  • The exam consists of 8 multiple-choice, scenario-based, gradient scored questions.
  • Each question will have 4 possible answer-options, one of which is worth 5 marks, one which is worth 3 marks, one which is worth 1 mark, and one which is a distracter and achieves no marks.
  • Duration: Maximum 90 minutes for candidates in their home language (if available - 120 minutes if the paper is in your second language. The use of a dictionary will be allowed).

To be eligible for the examination leading to the ITIL Service Design Certificate, the candidate must fulfil the following requirements:

Have undertaken at least 24 contact hours approved training.
Hold the ITIL Foundation Certificate in IT Service Management.
Have at least 2 years' professional experience working in IT service management.
Completed a minimum 12 hours of personal study by reviewing the course material provided.
It is recommended that candidates have experience of working in the service management capacity within a service provider environment, with responsibility for at least one of the Service Design processes outlined above.
A maximum of 16 participants will be allowed to attend a classroom course.